Past Presidents

Chronological Listing of Presidents of The Association for Interdisciplinary Studies:

  • 2016-18: James Welch IV (Associate Professor of History, Chair – Division of Social Sciences and Business, University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma)
  • 2014-16: Machiel Keestra (Assistant Professor of Natural and Social Sciences Program and Interdisciplinary Honors Program, Institute for Interdisciplinary Studies, University of Amsterdam)
  • 2011-13: Rick Szostak (Economics, University of Alberta)
  • 2009-11: Karen Moranski (Associate Vice Chancellor for Undergraduate Education, University of Illinois at Springfield)
  • 2007-09: Pauline Gagnon (Chair of Mass Communications and Theatre and Professor of Theatre, University of West Georgia)
  • 2005-07: Don Stowe (Interdisciplinary Studies, College of HRSM, University of South Carolina)
  • 2003-05: Cheryl Jacobsen (Vice President for Academic Affairs, Loras College)
  • 2001-03: Carolyn Haynes (Honors Program, Miami University)
  • 1999-2001: Joan Fiscella (Library, University of Illinois at Chicago)
  • 1997-99: Roz Schindler (Interdisciplinary Studies Program, Wayne State University)
  • 1995-97: Constance Ramirez (Academic Affairs, English, Duquesne University)
  • 1993-95: Stephen Gottlieb (English, Quinnipiac College)
  • 1991-93: Slobodan Petrovich (Psychology, IDS, Interprofessional, University of Maryland at Baltimore)
  • 1990-91: Nelson Bingham (Psychology, Earlham College)
  • 1989-90: Michael Field (English, Honors, Faculty Development, Bemidji State University)
  • 1988-89: Anne Brooks (Humanities, Eastern Kentucky University)
  • 1987-88: Julie Thompson Klein (Humanities, IDS Program, Wayne State University)
  • 1986-87: Beth Casey (General Education/Special Prog., Bowling Green State University)
  • 1985-86: Raymond C. Miller (Social Science, San Francisco State University)
  • 1984-85: Thomas L. Benson (President, Green Mountain State College)
  • 1983-84: Thomas R. Murray (Center for Bio-Medical Ethics, Case Western Reserve University)
  • 1981-83: Forrest Armstrong (Dean, Grand Valley State College)
  • 1980-81: Barb Hursh (Associate Provost, Psychology, Northeastern Illinois University)
  • 1979-80: William H. Newell (School of IDS, Miami University)